Women from Other Worlds

When: December 20, 2021 | 4PM

Where: Dog-Eared Books

Women From Other Worlds Book Club explores the contemporary work of female authors of fantasy and sci-fi. Historically underappreciated in the genre, these writers are now doubtlessly some of its greatest leaders.

This month we are reading The All-Consuming World by Cassandra Khaw. The Women From Other Worlds book club will meet at 4 PM, on Monday, December 20.

A diverse team of broken, diminished former criminals get back together to solve the mystery of their last, disastrous mission and to rescue a missing and much-changed comrade… but they’re not the only ones in pursuit of the secret at the heart of the planet Dimmuborgir. The highly-evolved AI of the universe have their own agenda and will do whatever it takes to keep humans from ever controlling the universe again. This band of dangerous women, half-clone and half-machine, must battle their own traumas and a universe of sapient ageships who want them dead, in order to settle their affairs once and for all. 

Cassandra Khaw’s debut novel is a page-turning exploration of humans and machines that is perfect for readers of Ann Leckie, Ursula Le Guin, and Kameron Hurley.

Purchase a copy to read, or grab it from the library, and join us for discussion at Dog-Eared Books at 4 PM, on Monday, December 20. This book club is free to anyone who wishes to participate, no registration necessary.

Dates and books of upcoming Women From Other Worlds Book Club gatherings:

December 20 at 4 PM The All-Consuming World by Cassandra Khaw

Upcoming 2022 Book Club Dates *NOTE* The Women From Other Worlds will be meeting at 5 PM in 2022

January 24 at 5 PM Piranessi by Susanna Clarke

February 28  at 5 PM Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

March 28 at 5 PM Light From Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki

April 25 at 5 PM A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

May 23 at 5 PM Sistersong by Lucy Holland

June 27 at 5 PM The Priory of the Orange Tree* by Samantha Shannon

*Danika recommends getting an early start on The Priory of the Orange Tree since it is a thicker book.